I can assure you switch does not modify the original files unless you are saving to those files, and in that case it will ask you if you want to overwrite them first before doing so.
Since we don't support converting to dvf, the aformentioned scenario is not possible (i.e. switch cannot write to your dvf files and therefore cannot erase them).
does your dvf file still display its original filesize or is it now much smaller?