That's not what is seen here. If a selected clip is video/audio linked, both will shift. If not, selecting both video and audio, then grouping, affects those clips. Clear the Cache, under OPTIONS | DISK tab before loading, in case there has been corruption.
Share a project that demonstrates the issue. Indicate here what specific clip (by timecode), throws off sync when deleted. Follow these instructions, step-by-step. Don't skip any. And, if using Google Drive for the upload, don't forget to change "restricted" to "anyone with link can view."
- Back up --- With your project on the timeline, click on MENU at the top-left. Click FILE|BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER. Choose a folder and SELECT FOLDER.
- Zip the folder --- It will be numbered. In Windows right-click on it and Send To > Compressed (zipped) folder.
- Upload --- Use a free server - Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc. - to upload the zipped folder. When it completes...
- Get link --- Right-click the file and click SHARE. If using Google, right-click the file, click SHARE | SHARE. Change "restricted" to "anyone ... can view"
- Share --- Click COPY LINK or OK | DONE. Paste that link here, or click the folder at the top-right of this forum to message it privately. It won't be shared.