If VP is doing the job for you it's best to stick with it - at least for a time. New versions can always be test driven, even if unlicensed.
Yes, this appears to be a bug. Revert to your prior release. If you don't have it install this one. Ignore any virus warning and allow it to proceed.
That should take care of the issue. If not, come back here. And Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. From the HOME tab, the AS choice is available by clicking the caret to the right of the Save Project button on the toolbar. That way you're protected, and shouldn't lose anything.