Tough to diagnose without seeing the project. For protection...
Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. From the HOME tab, the AS choice is available by clicking the caret to the right of the Save Project button on the toolbar.
Close Videopad. Relaunch it and go to OPTIONS | DISK tab and Clear Unused Cache Files. If no go, install this release.
For one-time licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, VP will continue to fully function but a fee is required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info. If there's an issue, you can always revert.
If the issue persists please share. The process is easy, quick and can be done privately. Just follow these steps. Don't skip any. And, if using Google Drive for the upload, be sure to change "restricted" to "anyone with link can view."
Back up --- With your project on the timeline, click on MENU at the top-left. Click FILE|BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER. Choose a folder and SELECT FOLDER.
Upload --- Use a free server - Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc.* - to upload the saved, numbered FOLDER. No need to upload the individual VPJ or export file.
Get link --- Right-click the file and click SHARE. If using Google, right-click the file, click SHARE | SHARE. Change "restricted" to "anyone ... can view"
Share --- Click COPY LINK or OK | DONE. Paste that link here, or click the folder at the top-right of this forum to message it privately. It won't be shared.
* Before uploading, right-click the folder, click PROPERTIES. Look at the File Size to confirm that it's not too big for the free space on the server.