What version? Look at the bottom-left of the window. Suggest using this one.
Close out VP. Relaunch, and before loading anything, go to OPTIONS | DISK tab and Clear Unused Cache Files. Then load the project.
If you have saved AS routinely, with a unique # or name each time, you should be protected. Load a slightly earlier VPJ file to restore to the state the project was in when saved.
To save AS, click the caret to the right of the Save Project toolbar button; a drop-down menu has that option. If simply Save is used, then the VPJ will be overwritten.