Nothing was done. Split appears on the toolbar in the current release.
For one-time licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, WP will continue to fully function but a fee is required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info. If there's an issue, you can always revert.
Split can also be added to the Favorites bar. Open that tab and click the Customize icon.