Not seeing that here. A file was Saved AS, and pointed to a specific folder. It was written to only that folder.
There was no dupe on the C:\ drive - only a recent file shortcut, which is normal for Windows 11.
Here is the latest release. For one-time licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, WP will continue to fully function but a fee is required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info. If there's an issue, you can always revert.