A timing comparison will be run if you share the project. Is it 'stalling' while loading or when exporting? What is the format of the bulk of the content?
In version 13.21, under OPTIONS | MEDIA, the normalize external checkmark, if removed manually, remains unchecked ... and the feature is disabled.
Is this the item you're referring to?