When a project is saved, it will restore exactly as it was. Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. From the HOME tab, that choice is available by clicking the chevron to the right of the Save Project button on the toolbar.
When restoring a saved project, if files are missing it will prompt to find them. Click on RESOLVE, and locate the file. Never move or delete files until the project is complete. You can save a portable project by clicking the Menu (top-left), then FILE|SAVE PORTABLE PROJECT AS. This will create a folder with all source files and the VPJ control file.
Without seeing the project it's tough to speculate what is occurring. Do update to the latest, and please share your work. Follow these steps, one-by-one...
Back up --- With your project on the timeline, click on MENU at the top-left. Click FILE|BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER. Choose a folder and SELECT FOLDER.
Upload --- Use a free server - Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc.* - to upload the saved, numbered FOLDER. Do NOT upload the individual VPJ or export file.
Get link --- Get a public link. If using Google Drive click GET SHAREABLE LINK. If necessary change "restricted" to "anyone with the link can view"
Share --- Click COPY LINK | DONE. Paste that link here, or click the folder at the top-right of this forum to message it privately to me. It won't be shared.
* Before uploading, right-click the folder, click PROPERTIES. Look at the File Size to confirm that it's not too big for the free space on the server.