Saving creates a VPJ control file that tells the program how to reconstruct a project. Click on the saved VPJ to load a saved project.
Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. From the HOME tab, that choice is available by clicking the chevron to the right of the Save Project button on the toolbar. That's your protection.
Never remove or move source files until a project has been exported and won't need to be edited further.
Backing up a project to a folder (or Save Portable Project As) saves a VPJ file and all the original source files so they can be used to reconstruct the project on any PC. In other words, it creates a portable folder of the project.
Direct uploads to Google Drive from the VP toobar test well here. Try again. If it fails, export the project as a video file and make note of where it's saved on your PC.
Open your Google Drive account, click New, find the folder and upload the file that you exported. 