A VP install has a 50/50 chance of either the Wizard or Template icon landing on the toolbar and a random chance of getting the old or new template layout.
If the Templates icon has a chevron to the right of the icon, then that's the old Templates version, with options to use placeholders to merge projects. (This didn't work well, IMO.)
If it's the Template or Wizard icon - no chevron - then that's the new version, which at this juncture seems to no longer have options for creating templates or using the placeholder/merge feature. As of this date that's how it looks to me. It's a work in progress, so expect improvements.
A template is just a project - designated by a VPJ file.
In lieu of using the Templates routine, a project can be created - perhaps in a separate sequence - and then exported using Save Project As.
That choice is available by clicking the chevron to the right of the Save Project button on the toolbar or via the MENU | FILE drop-down.
Give it a unique name.