SMelanie wrote:
I have a question regarding setting up Chart of Accounts. I have entered some asset accounts and an opening balance. I did not select a classification. It will not let me do that now as a transaction has been made. I am guessing this transaction is the opening balance I entered. If I delete the opening balance, can I delete that account and recreate it correctly with a classification?
If the chart of accounts that are interrelated (there are related transactions), the classification of the accounts cannot be deleted, unless the details of the entire transaction are also cleared. Of course this will cause a high level of complexity. For all assets that are unlikely to have a balance below ZERO, the status of replenishing the balance on the opening balance can be changed repeatedly. However, for accounts that have a negative balance (minus balance), changes to the opening balance are not allowed.
Just do journal data corrections or do journal adjustments