Before starting a new project it's wise to Clear Unused Cache Files, under OPTIONS | DISK tab.
Upgrade to the latest release. For licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, VP will continue to fully function but a fee will be required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info.