What version? Look at the start-up screen or the bottom-left of the VP window. This is the version that created the project?
Advise that you install this release. For licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, VP will continue to fully function but a fee will be required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info.
If the issue persists, please share the project. Someone here will check it out. The process is simple, quick and can be private. Just follow these steps...
1. With your project on the timeline, click on MENU at the top-left. Click FILE|BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER. Choose a folder and SELECT FOLDER.
2. Locate the saved, date-numbered folder. Upload it - NOT the VPJ or export file - to a free server. Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc.*
3. Get a shared, public link. If using Google Drive click GET SHAREABLE LINK. Change 'restricted' to 'anyone with the link can view.' Then click COPY LINK | DONE.
4. Paste that link here, or click the folder, above top-right in this forum, and message it to me. This is private and won't be shared.
* Before uploading, right-click the folder, click PROPERTIES. Look at the File Size to confirm that it's not too big for the free space on the server.