Hi
".....The new sequence does not contain the text clips as deleting the sequence triggers no "are you sure..." and the clips arrive in the bin from which the 'master'vpj were saved.
Not really into (understanding) sequences and the new sequence seemingly playing no useful part, whats it all about, why are the sequences created and is there a way of stopping them being created?....."
When you Save Project or Save Project As VP creates a vpj file that contains the data required to recreate your project. It's a text file but does not contain any images or clips so is a relatively small file. The data includes clip names and location; details of split and edit positions; types and durations of any effects and transitions. Everything needed to reconstruct your work, and this includes texts and their details.
Essentially the vpj file is meant to be loaded as a stand alone file. VP will read the data in the file and recreate your project either by loading clips it finds listed from the cache which are actual images or clip copies, or, if this has been emptied will loads them from the actual PC locations using data saved in the vpj file.(It will prompt you to find them if you have moved/renamed/deleted them). Since VP is recreating the project in the state it was when you saved your work, it also recreates your work as a sequence which is a copy of the timeline at that point in the edit. All this is normal. VP end up exactly as it was when you saved the project and that includes Sequence 1
Now. When you earlier saved your project of just useful texts etc., VP saved a vpj file exactly as normal. As this is identical to any other project, when you select to Import it VP loads the clips and text files (as expected) and, just as if it was a normal project it creates a Sequence 2 file. However, since VP is Importing the files and not Loading them it doesn't replace anything you have on the timeline and simply leaves them in the clip bin from where you can use them. The new Sequence 2 file is there as a matter of course. Indeed it might be useful. However it need not be used and can be deleted (or simply left), as the accompanying clips/texts are created separately.
Nat