If you saved the project, you're protected. Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. Then you can restore a project to the state it was in when saved.
UNinstall VP via Control Panel | PROGRAMS AND FEATURES. Then go to this folder on your PC and delete all the files that it contains...
"C:\Program Files (x86)\NCH Software\Components" --- or a similar path without the (x86)
Reinstall VP. If things are the same, folks here will be glad to help you. Just share your project. It's easy to do and can be private. Follow these steps...
1. With your project on the timeline, click on MENU at the top-left. Click FILE|BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER. Choose a folder and SELECT FOLDER.
2. Locate the saved, numbered folder - not the export file or only the VPJ. Upload it to a free server - Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc.*
3. Get a shared, public link. If using Google Drive click GET SHAREABLE LINK. Click the blue "Change to anyone with the link..." Then click COPY LINK | DONE.
4. Paste that link here, or click the folder, above top-right in this forum, and message it to me. This is private and won't be shared.
* Before uploading, right-click the folder, click PROPERTIES. Look at the File Size to confirm that it's not too big for the free space on the server.