Strange. Reboot. Then install the latest version. For licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, VP will continue to fully function but a fee will be required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info.
If you saved the project, clicking on the VPJ control file should restore it - as long as the source files have not been deleted or moved. The VPJ is normally found in the same folder as the source files, but you can do a PC search for it.
Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. Then you can restore a project to the state it was in when saved. Just double-click the VPJ file (which isn't playable).