Folks here are mainly users, just like yourself. They cant take over your screen. Whether NCH paid support does that is unknown, but doubtful.
If you make a mistake, immediately press <ctrl-Z> (EDIT | UNDO) to backtrack, step-by-step.
Of course. Save Project File AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name, so as not to overwrite prior saves. Using Save Project Files (no AS) will overwrite. Then you can restore a project to the state it was in when saved. Just double-click the VPJ file (which isn't playable).
Video clips normally have linked audio, to maintain sync. If desired, right-click either the video or audio track and click the UNlink choice.
To prevent tracks from affecting other tracks when editing, right-click to the left of the track and LOCK TRACK.
Certain 'movements' are normal, such as when a new clip is inserted (dropped into) an existing timeline clip, which will split that clip.
If you outline specifics here - exactly what is being attempted - folks will chime in to help.