What version of VP is being used?
Nothing will be lost if you use Save Project AS routinely, giving it a unique # or name so as to not overwrite earlier saves. If Save Project (no AS) is used, it will overwrite. To restore a project just double-click its VPJ control file, while is usually found in the same folder as the source files, unless you saved it elsewhere.
When you make a mistake immediately press <ctrl-Z> (EDIT | UNDO) to backtrack step-by-step.
What, specifically, do you mean by "all jumbled?" Share a project (not the export) where this occurs and someone here will look into it. Just follow this easy 4-step process.
- With your project on the timeline, click the 3-lined 'hamburger' menu, top-left. Click FILE | BACK UP PROJECT FILES TO FOLDER. Specify a folder. Click SELECT FOLDER.
2. Using the PC file manager, go to where the numbered folder was saved and upload it to a free server - Google Drive, MS OneDrive, etc.*
3. Get a shared, public, non-restricted link.
4. Paste that link here, or click the folder, above top-right in this forum, and message it to me. This is private and won't be shared.
* Before uploading, right-click the folder, click PROPERTIES. Look at the File Size to confirm that it's not too big for the free space on the server.