Rarely does a company person stop by here. Most who help are users, just like yourself.
VP does not kick folks off a project. The prompt is an invite to try a newer version, with improvements and, no doubt, a few bugs._
If you've been using your licensed version for years, then it will continue to work as it has... and apparently it's been doing the job for you.
If you don't care to update, don't. If you do, pay - or run an unlicensed version.
If your original registration code has been lost or no longer works with your purchased version then that is a problem. Contact the company via the link above.