Hi
🙂 The answer is yes.
It has to be there. Why do you find it odd that you can see the "unused" area of the tracks to the right of your last clip?
Remember, VP doesn't know you have no more clips to add but must always cater for fresh additions by having an empty track. It will preview what you have up to the end of the final clip and then stop. It will export up to the end of the final clip and then stop.
Even when you open VP for the first time or when you open it for a new project there will be a track and it will be empty for a start. There is no fixed length for this empty work space and the maximum you can see (at my screen resolution) is around 5min 30 secs when it is empty. In a way consider it as a buffer.....filling up with your project but always extending to take on more.
Nat