What version is being used? What happens when you right-click in the preview window and Take Snapshot of a clip or sequence, whichever tab is active?
Please upgrade to the latest version.
For licensed users upgrades are free for up to six months from purchase date. After that, VP will continue to fully function but a fee will be required in order to register the newest. Retain your old install file and registration info.