I am about as fed up as one can be with the way VP takes over my laptop. I need to stop the program and I even rebooted my laptop by long pressing the power button. When I logged back in VP was still open and exporting!
I call that an invasion of privacy, not to mention just plain wrong not to be able to abort a program.