Seems to me that you could make another copy of your project that contains the puppets you want to save and delete all content except the puppets. Then save your edited project under a different name. You could start all your new projects with puppets by loading the edited project you created. You will now have all the puppets all ready to go in your new project. I really don't see any issues.