Hi Sam
Thanks for your reply
Repeated backups of the same project on the same machine work OK even with overwrite. The .vpj file created will reload the last changes, although you can't go BACK to the previous version. That doesn't matter as it is a backup. The destination folder however can rapidly fill up with copies of the previous backup files which cannot be used as the vpj file no longer points to them. So in effect that part works OK
Where problems start to occur is when you add similarly named files from a different folder to the project and then do a backup. They are not always renamed correctly and the .vpj file wont reload the project as backed up.
Try this....
Take two clips called CLIP1 and CLIP2 place on desktop.
Take two different clips called CLIP1 and CLIP2 and place them in a folder on the desktop.
Open VP and load CLIP1 from the desktop and drag it to the timeline.
Make a backup and and close VP.
The backup folder now holds CLIP1 and Untitled.vpj file
Double click the vpj file to recreate your backed up project. So far all is working normally
Add CLIP2 from the desktop but don't add it to the timeline-leave it in the clip bin.
Perform another backup and select overwrite.
Close VP and look in the backup folder.
You will have CLIP1-1 CLIP1 CLIP2 and Untitled.vpj
Double click the vpj file to recreate your backed up project and again, all is working normally.
Now load CLIP1 from the folder on the desktop.
This added to the clip bin as CLIP1(1)
Place this on the timeline and then do a backup with overwrite.
Close VP
The backup folder now holds CLIP1 CLIP1-1 CLIP1-2 CLIP1-3 CLIP2 CLIP2-1
and Untitled.vpj file
Double click the vpj file to recreate the backed up project.
What is now created is NOT what was backed up, the newly added CLIP1 from the desktop folder is no longer present either in the clip bin or the timeline as it was when the backup was made. This is what I referred to as a possible bug.
How can the project, as it was backed up, be recreated?
I have to say I normally use "Save project" or "Save project as" and for me these are OK
I don't use a second PC so I assume that using Backup and selecting to create a new folder within* the backup folder means that the project can be moved from machine to machine as all the clips and their associated vpj file are together in that folder. Am I correct in this?
Nat