Hi NCH
Following a query in an earlier post regarding the way 4.48 overwrites the sequence clip and the bin clip with the stabilized clip but without doing a name change........
http://nch.invisionzone.com/index.php?/topic/23848-stabilization-copy-name/
..... yesterday I opened VP 2.41 to check on a certain feature by simply double clicking on the setup.exe file which is what I normally do. After checking it out I reloaded 4.48 by again, double clicking its setup.exe file.
VP 4.48 duly reloaded (Professional licensed version). I carried on editing some old Super 8 film copies and now have just noticed that the stabilization feature is (to my way of thinking) working the way I suggested in my earlier post.
I can select a clip from the media bin which is already on the sequence line and stabilize it. A copy marked -stabilize is placed in the output folder (in fact I find I get 2 stabilized copies!) Another copy, properly marked "-stabilized" is placed in the media bin. The sequence line clip is not replaced and remains in the bin marked with the green tick and nothing is overwritten.
Previous to reloading 2.41 the sequence clip and the bin clip were replaced with the stabilized clip without prompting and without being renamed (although the copy in the output folder was renamed) and this made it difficult see what clips had been stabilized.
NOTE This is NOT a complaint :-)) as this aspect of VP is now working the way I want....I just wondered why this has happened.
I didn't delete any NHC files before loading 2.41 or when I returned to 4.48......just clicked the setp.exe file each time........and why 2 copies marked xxxx-stabilized in the output folder? (Converting does run twice I noticed.)
Nat