If it automatically deleted you could end up losing files. If you have a USB stick plugged into your computer and if you had 100 files on it that you want to keep but the folder only has 10 them you would lose 90 files. Or if you plugged in the wrong USB stick you could lose everything. I am glad that it doesn't auto delete, auto upload yes.