Hi
Thats not a problem. VP does not alter your original clip(s).
You should load your movie into VP and then trim it where you want to remove the unwanted footage. Now save the film back to your PC. You supply the destination file and the name.
e.g. Desktop/Trimmed film.avi.
This gives you two versions, the original and the one you trimmed.
Even if you save it again without changing the name, VP will create a different numbered version
e.g. Desktop/Trimmed film 1.avi and so on.
Your original is not actually altered.
Nat