I have tried to start a new document, I'm a new user, and it does not have 'save' under the file menu so I assume your work is saved when you close the program. Can you close the file you are working on and work on another.
Second problem, I tried to make changes on copy I had already typed in and all my work deleted and I could not recover it. I tried command-Z the usual command to undo a change but my work was lost.
Can you help me start again and know how to be more careful that I will not lose my work the next time?
TIA,
Ken